L4 Louisiana Form (R-1300): What You Should Know
If applying an Employer with an Exemption Certificate (L-4) with the Employee Withholding Exemption Certificate (L-10), you must print both pages with the form. You must apply the Employee Withholding Exemption Certificate (L-10) to employees with annual incomes of 40,000 or less. You may also apply the Employee Withholding Exemption Certificate (L-10) to employees with income that is below the Federal Poverty Level (GPL) of 11,880 and not more than 400 per month in any calendar year. Furthermore, you must print a copy of the Employee Withholding Exemption Certificate (L-10) in the “Employee's Notice of Occupational Requirement (EO-4) Section” box at the bottom of the application. If you are making adjustments to your payroll you must print out the corrections before you complete your employment eligibility verification. For complete instructions on completing the forms, including sample forms, check out the Louisiana Employment Code (PDF, 2.0 MB). You must pay 10% of your employee's federal withholding for each pay period or portion thereof. This 10% must be paid within one week of the pay period when that employee starts your covered appointment. You must pay the rest of the employee's federal withholding within 21 days of your payroll deduction and are not required to pay taxes on a regular basis until the withholding are paid. If you do not pay an employee's federal withholding, the employee has the right to take unpaid leave and may be entitled to an additional period of time to file a claim. Your payroll deduction will be reviewed by the state. If the state determines that you did not apply 10% of the employee's federal withholding to pay the employee's federal taxes, you will be required to show cause why the state should not make a negative determination. If the state finds that you withheld too much, you will be required to pay a penalty. You will be notified no more than 3 days in advance if a negative determination is made. You may appeal no more than 7 days and not more than 300.00 from the state that made the negative determination, however, unless you were the one who completed your payroll deduction form, the state may not take your appeal.